Weekly Event: Hair Competition! ♥

image

When I sign up to do something, I always regret it straight after but can’t bring myself to pull out. This leaves me in a bit of a pickle, right? However, this time, as scared as I was, its definitely something I won’t forget!

image

I’ve always heard of hair competitions and know a few people who have done one in the past, but still wasn’t sure what to expect. Even the lovely lady I was doing it for had no idea. (Kind of reassuring knowing I wasn’t the only one!).

The day started with each stylist and model in front of a glass mirror, setting up their stations whilst eyeing up the competition. I have to say, I didn’t realise how competitive I am until that moment. As soon as we were all given the go ahead by the judges, it was a rush of who could get to the sinks first! Luckily, we won that part! Hour and a half later, all the models, including myself are all dressed, hair styled to perfection and make up smoothed on, ready to go.

image

What came next is the part that nearly made me RUN! I had to catwalk…
I’m not one for posing, showing off, strutting my stuff at all. I feel the fact that we all got choreographed beforehand really added on the pressure, not forgetting that it was in front of quite a big audience! eek!
About 30/40 of us all queued in a tiny space backstage, all shaking with nerves, praying we didn’t fall over.

Despite it being quite a nerve wracking experience, I’m definitely glad I said yes and need to say yes more often to everything I’m given the chance to do! Whats the point in turning something down because its scary? It gave me so much confidence and a little life boost!

Next time someone says ‘hey, wanna do me a favour?’ or ‘I’d love to do this, would you be up for it?’ instead of letting those anxieties take over, take control and say ‘yes!’

x

Leave a Reply

